Current World Ranking: 21

Contact Us:

Website: No Website Available

The Malaysian Netball Association (MNA) was established in 1978 under the patronage of her late Majesty, The Sultanah of Pahang. The MNA has 17 affiliate members of which 14 are State Affiliates and the remainder are The Royal Malaysian Police, Malaysian Armed Forces and The National Electricity Board.

Since 1980 the MNA has been affiliated to the Olympic Council of Malaysia. MNA affiliated to The International Federation of Netball in 1982 and the Asian Federation of Netball Associations in 1985.

Netball is THE popular game for girls and women in Malaysia. It is part of the school curriculum with the basic skills being introduced at primary level as early as year 3 (8 year olds). Most schools, government agencies, universities, colleges, clubs and the private sector have their own Netball teams. They play more for recreation than competition and usually twice a week.

Netball is played outdoors on grass/hard court and also indoors. There are many multi purpose halls in Malaysia. There is one Netball stadium that was built for the 1998 Commonwealth Games in Kuala Lumpur. Most schools still use grass courts.

MNA has prepared development programmes for coaches, umpires, technical officials and periodically holds seminars, courses, workshops and clinics. Through talent identification programmes, players take part in centralised training, clinics and camps.

2003 was a memorable year for Malaysia Netball Association as it celebrated its Silver Jubilee.
Throughout the year, many events were organized to commemorate the development of Netball in Malaysia and also to celebrate the wide participation of women in the game of Netball, both directly and indirectly.

Some of the activities that took place were the 19th Youth Championship, a Netball Shooting Competition in June, the 25th National Championship, a Beach Netball Competition and a celebratory MNA Silver Jubilee Night in August.

Maldives Singapore Brunei India Australia Pakistan Thailand South Korea Japan Sri Lanka Malaysia Hong Kong China China